Report of Executive Director to Annual Council – 18th May 2017

Constitutional Arrangements and Allocation of Seats to Party Groups – 2017/18

1. Introduction

Under the Council's Constitution it falls to this meeting to approve the constitutional arrangements and the allocation of seats to party groups for this municipal year.

Following this year's elections the Council now has the following groups - Conservatives with 22 seats, Labour with 9 seats, Liberal Democrats with 9 seats and 2 Independent Councillors.

The Party Group Leaders have met with the Executive Director and agreed that the seats on the committees be allocated as shown in the table in Appendix 1 to this report.

2. Cabinet

The Constitution requires the Leader of the Council to appoint a Cabinet of between two and nine councillors plus the leader. Cabinet will be chaired by the Leader of the Council. The Cabinet is not subject to the proportional representation of party groups.

In light of the above, the Leader of the Council has appointed the following Cabinet, comprising 5 councillors with the portfolios indicated below:

Councillor Stokes - Leader of the Council

Councillor Mrs Timms - Growth and Investment Portfolio

Councillor Mrs Parker - Environment and Public Realm Portfolio

Councillor Mrs Crane - Communities and Homes Portfolio Councillor Ms Robbins - Corporate Resources Portfolio

The Leader will take specific responsibility for quality and performance. He will liaise with other portfolio holders and panel chairman.

3. Audit and Ethics Committee

The Audit and Ethics Committee consists of six non-Cabinet members, two of whom will be independent of the Council and who will be the Chairman and Vice Chairman. It is proposed that four Councillors be appointed to the Committee as set out in the Appendix to the report. It is also proposed that Paul Dudfield and John Eves continue in their roles as chairman and vice chairman respectively of the Committee.

4. Licensing and Safety Committee

There has been a proposal from the opposition groups that the number of members on the Licensing and Safety Committee should be reduced from 15 to 12.

Provisional allocation of seats from each Party Group will be circulated separately as Appendix 2 to this report once all nominations have been received. The Committees have been summoned to meet immediately following the conclusion of this meeting to appoint their Chairman and Vice-Chairman.

Recommended that -

- (1) the composition of Cabinet for 2017/18 municipal year be noted;
- (2) the number of seats on Licensing and Safety Committee be reduced from 15 to 12;
- (3) the following appointments be made to the Audit and Ethics Committee:

Paul Dudfield (Chairman)
John Eves (Vice Chairman); and
Four borough councillors as set out in the Appendix to this report; and

(4) appointments to Overview and Scrutiny Committees and Regulatory Committees be made in accordance with the arrangements set out in Appendix 2 to this report.

ALLOCATION OF SEATS TO PARTY GROUPS 2017/18 MUNICIPAL YEAR

		Scrutiny Brooke	Scrutiny Whittle	Planning Committee	Licensing & Safety Committee	Audit and Ethics Committee*	Appeals Committee	Total
Conservative Council	22	5	5	6	6	2	3	27
Labour	9	2	2	3	2	1	1	11
Liberal Democrat	9	2	2	2	3	1	1	11
Independents x2	2	0	0	1	1	0	0	2
Total	42	9	9	12	12	4	5	51

^{*}Independent Chair and Vice-Chair for Audit and Ethics Committee

Appointments to Overview and Scrutiny and Regulatory Committees

(1) Brooke Overview and Scrutiny Committee (9 seats – 5 Cons, 2 Lab, 2 Lib Dem)

Councillors Mrs A'Barrow, Mrs Bragg, Cranham, Ms Edwards, Mrs New, Pacey-Day, Sandison, Srivastava and Williams.

(2) Whittle Overview and Scrutiny Committee (9 seats – 5 Cons, 2 Lab, 2 Lib Dem)

Councillors Brader, Butlin, Douglas, Gillias, Keeling, Lowe, Mrs O'Rourke, Roberts and Mrs Watson-Merret.

(3) Appeals Committee (5 seats - 3 Cons, 1 Lab, 1 Lib Dem)

Councillors Cade, Leigh Hunt, Keeling, Mistry and Poole.

(4) Audit and Ethics Committee (4 seats - no PR required, 2 Cons, 1 Lab, 1 Lib Dem)

Councillors Miss Lawrence, Mistry, Pacey-Day and Roodhouse.

(5) Licensing and Safety Committee (12 seats - 6 Cons, 2 Lab, 3 Lib Dem, 1 Ind)

Councillors Allen, Mrs Avis, Brader, Mrs Bragg, Cade, Miss Dumbleton, Lowe, Mrs Nash, Mrs Roberts, Mrs Roodhouse, Ms Watson-Merret and Williams.

(6) Planning Committee (12 seats - 6 Cons, 3 Lab, 2 Lib Dem, 1 Ind)

Councillors Mrs Avis, Mrs A'Barrow, Butlin, Cranham, Ellis, Gillias, Miss Lawrence, Lewis, Mistry, Sandison, Mrs Simpson-Vince and Srivastava.