Report of Executive Director to Annual Council - 16 May 2019

Constitutional Arrangements and Allocation of Seats to Party Groups 2019/20

1. Introduction

Under the Council's Constitution it falls to this meeting to approve the constitutional arrangements and the allocation of seats to party groups for this municipal year.

Following this year's elections, the Council now has the following groups - Conservatives with 24 seats, Labour with 9 seats and Liberal Democrats with 9 seats

The Party Group Leaders have met with the Executive Director and agreed that the seats on the committees be allocated as shown in the table in Appendix 1 to this report.

2. Election of Leader of the Council

In accordance with the Council's Constitution, the position of Leader of the Council becomes vacant when the current Leader's term of office as councillor expires ie he/she is standing for re-election as a councillor. In this case, the Leader must be elected at the next Annual Meeting of Council.

Councillor Stokes' term of office as councillor expired in May of this year. Council must, therefore, elect a Leader.

3. Cabinet

The Constitution requires the Leader of the Council to appoint a Cabinet of between two and nine councillors plus the leader. Cabinet will be chaired by the Leader of the Council. The Cabinet is not subject to the proportional representation of party groups.

In light of the above, the Leader of the Council has appointed the following Cabinet, comprising 6 councillors with the portfolios indicated below:

Councillor Lowe - Leader of the Council

Councillor Poole - Deputy Leader of the Council

Councillor Mrs Simpson-Vince - Growth and Investment Portfolio

Councillor Roberts - Environment and Public Realm Portfolio

Councillor Mrs Crane - Communities and Homes Portfolio

Councillor Ms Robbins - Corporate Resources Portfolio

The Leader will take specific responsibility for quality and performance. He will liaise with other portfolio holders and committee chairman.

4. Audit and Ethics Committee

The Audit and Ethics Committee consists of six non-Cabinet members, two of whom will be independent of the Council and who will be the Chairman and Vice Chairman. It is proposed that four Councillors be appointed to the Committee as set out in the Appendix to the report. It is also proposed that Paul Dudfield and John Eves continue in their roles as chairman and vice chairman respectively of the Committee.

Under Part 3C(2) of the Council's Constitution, no member of either of the scrutiny committees may be a member of, or named substitute for, Audit and Ethics Committee.

Members of the Committee are also required to appoint a named substitute each, details of which are set out in the Appendix.

5. Allocation of seats

Party Group Leaders have notified me of their provisional allocation of seats and these are set out in Appendix 2 to this report. The Committees have been summoned to meet immediately following the conclusion of this meeting to appoint their Chairman and Vice-Chairman.

Recommended that -

- (1) Councillor Lowe be elected as Leader of the Council;
- (2) the composition of Cabinet for 2019/20 municipal year be noted;
- (3) the following appointments be made to the Audit and Ethics Committee:

Paul Dudfield (Chairman)
John Eves (Vice Chairman); and

Four borough councillors and named substitutes as set out in Appendix 2 to this report; and

(4) appointments to Overview and Scrutiny Committees and Regulatory Committees be made in accordance with the arrangements set out in Appendix 2 to this report.

ALLOCATION OF SEATS TO PARTY GROUPS 2019/20 MUNICIPAL YEAR

	Council	Scrutiny	Scrutiny	Planning Committee	Licensing & Safety Committee	Audit and Ethics Committee*	Appeals Committee	Total
Conservatives	24	5	5	7	7	2	3	29
Labour	9	2	2	3	2	1	1	11
Liberal Democrats	9	2	2	2	3	1	1	11
Total	42	9	9	12	12	4	5	51

^{*}Independent Chair and Vice-Chair for Audit and Ethics Committee

Appointments to Overview and Scrutiny and Regulatory Committees

(1) Community and Resources Overview and Scrutiny Committee (formerly Brooke) (9 seats – 5 Cons, 2 Lab, 2 Lib Dem)

Councillors Mrs A'Barrow, Mrs Brown, Cade, Douglas, Eccleson, Leigh Hunt, Keeling, Long and Mahoney.

(2) Environment and Growth Overview and Scrutiny Committee (formerly Whittle) (9 seats – 5 Cons, 2 Lab, 2 Lib Dem)

Councillors Bearne, Brader, Mrs Bragg, Ellis, Gillias, Mrs New, Picker, Mrs Roberts and Sandison.

(3) Appeals Committee (5 seats – 3 Cons, 1 Lab, 1 Lib Dem)

Councillors Mrs Bragg, Mistry, Mrs Roberts, Roodhouse and Mrs Timms.

(4) Audit and Ethics Committee (4 seats - no PR required, 2 Cons, 1 Lab, 1 Lib Dem)

Councillors Cranham, Mistry, McQueen and Pacey-Day.

Named substitutes: Councillors Butlin, Mrs O'Rourke, Roodhouse and Stokes.

(5) Licensing and Safety Committee (12 seats - 7 Cons, 2 Lab, 3 Lib Dem)

Councillors Mrs A'Barrow, Brader, Cade, Douglas, Miss Dumbleton, Ellis, Mrs Garcia, Leigh Hunt, Keeling, Pacey-Day, Mrs Roberts and Mrs Roodhouse.

(6) Planning Committee (12 seats - 7 Cons, 3 Lab, 2 Lib Dem)

Councillors Bearne, Mrs Brown, Brown, Butlin, Eccleson, Ellis, Mrs Garcia, Gillias, Miss Lawrence, Picker, Roodhouse and Sandison.