Report of Executive Director to Annual Council - 20 May 2021

Constitutional Arrangements and Allocation of Seats to Party Groups 2021/22

1. Introduction

Under the Council's Constitution it falls to this meeting to approve the constitutional arrangements and the allocation of seats to party groups for this municipal year.

Following this year's elections, the Council now has the following groups - Conservatives with 25 seats, Labour with 8 seats and Liberal Democrats with 9 seats.

The Party Group Leaders have met with the Executive Director and agreed that the seats on the committees be allocated as shown in the table in Appendix 1 to this report.

2. Cabinet

The Constitution requires the Leader of the Council to appoint a Cabinet of between two and nine councillors plus the leader. Cabinet will be chaired by the Leader of the Council. The Cabinet is not subject to the proportional representation of party groups.

In light of the above, the Leader of the Council has appointed the following Cabinet, comprising 7 councillors with the portfolios indicated below:

Councillor Lowe

Councillor Poole

Councillor Mrs Simpson-Vince

Councillor Roberts
Councillor Mrs Crane

Councillor Ms Robbins

Councillor Miss Lawrence

 Leader of the Council and Change and Transformation Portfolio

- Deputy Leader of the Council and Regulation and Safety Portfolio
- Growth and Investment Portfolio
- Leisure and Wellbeing Portfolio
- Communities, Homes, Digital and Communications Portfolio
- Finance, Performance, Legal and Governance Portfolio
- Operations and Traded Services Portfolio

3. Audit and Ethics Committee

The Audit and Ethics Committee consists of six non-Cabinet members, two of whom will be independent of the Council and who will be the Chairman and Vice Chairman. It is proposed that four Councillors be appointed to the Committee as set out in the Appendix to the report. It is also proposed that Paul Dudfield and John Eves continue in their roles as chairman and vice chairman respectively of the Committee.

Under the Council's Constitution, no member of either of the scrutiny committees may be a member of, or named substitute for, Audit and Ethics Committee.

Members of the Committee are also required to appoint a named substitute each, details of which are set out in the Appendix.

4. Appeals Committee

It is proposed that the Appeals Committee not be appointed to at this stage pending further legal clarification on its role.

5. Allocation of seats

Party Group Leaders have notified me of their provisional allocation of seats and these are set out in Appendix 2 to this report. The Committees have been summoned to meet immediately following the conclusion of this meeting to appoint their Chairman and Vice-Chairman.

Recommended that -

- (1) the composition of Cabinet for 2021/22 municipal year be noted;
- (2) the following appointments be made to the Audit and Ethics Committee:

Paul Dudfield (Chairman)
John Eves (Vice Chairman); and
Four borough councillors and named substitutes as set out in Appendix 2 to this report; and

(3) appointments to the Scrutiny Committee and regulatory committees be made in accordance with the arrangements set out in Appendix 2 to this report.

ALLOCATION OF SEATS TO PARTY GROUPS 2021/22 MUNICIPAL YEAR

	Council	Scrutiny	Planning Committee	Licensing & Safety Committee	Audit and Ethics Committee*
Conservatives	25	5	7	7	2
	8	2	2	2	1
Labour			_		·
Liberal Democrats	9	2	3	3	1
Total	42	9	12	12	4

^{*}Independent Chair and Vice-Chair for Audit and Ethics Committee. Named substitutes also appointed.

Appointments to Scrutiny Committee and Regulatory Committees

(1) Scrutiny Committee (9 seats – 5 Cons, 2 Lab, 2 Lib Dem)

Councillors Eccleson, Gillias, Mrs Hassell, Mahoney, Mrs New, Mrs O'Rourke, Mrs Parker, Roodhouse and Williams.

(2) Audit and Ethics Committee (4 seats - no PR required, 2 Cons, 1 Lab, 1 Lib Dem)

Councillors Bearne, McQueen, Mistry and Ms Watson-Merret.

Named substitutes: Councillors Mrs A'Barrow, Mrs O'Rourke, Mrs Roberts and Roodhouse

(3) Licensing and Safety Committee (12 seats - 7 Cons, 2 Lab, 3 Lib Dem)

Councillors Mrs A'Barrow, Bearne, Brader, Cade, Douglas, Miss Dumbleton, Ellis, Mrs Garcia, Keeling, Mrs Roodhouse, Mrs Timms and Williams.

(4) Planning Committee (12 seats - 7 Cons, 2 Lab, 3 Lib Dem)

Councillors Mrs Brown, Daly, Eccleson, Gillias, Lewis, McQueen, Picker, Rabin, Sandison, Srivastava, Ms Watson-Merret and Willis.